Skip to main content

The Department of Enterprise, Trade and Employment announced that it has made changes to the Critical Skills and Ineligible Occupations List. These changes came into effect on the 14th of June, 2021.

The following occupation have been added to the Critical Skills Employment Permit List:

  • Dietician

The following occupations removed from the Ineligible List Occupations List:

  • Social Worker
  • Occupational Therapist
  • Physiotherapist
  • Speech and Language Therapist
  • Health Care Assistant:
    • A minimum remuneration threshold salary of at least €27,000
    • When applying for a renewal employment permit – Health Care Assistant should have attained a relevant QQI Level 5 qualification after two years employment in the State

Please note the employment permit occupations lists in respect of Health Care Assistants does not extend to home care.

The Critical Skills Occupations List can be found here: Critical Skills Occupations List

The Ineligible List of Occupations for Employment Permits can be found here: Ineligible List of Occupations for Employment Permits