Skip to main content

The Department of Justice has signed an order reversing the visa requirements brought in last month for some Southern African nationalities to support Covid-19 public health measures.

With effect from Wednesday, 22nd December 2021, nationals of Botswana, Eswatini (formerly Swaziland), Lesotho and South Africa are no longer entry visa required and nationals of Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Mozambique, Namibia and South Africa are no longer transit visa required.

All travellers arriving into Ireland must continue to comply fully with measures required by law including proof of vaccination, recovery from Covid-19 or a negative PCR test to Immigration Control at their port of entry to the State. Please see full details on travel requirements here.

Please see full details on visa/ preclearance information here.